Wednesday, June 8, 2011

News - Soft Delete a Website

Google has consistently been rolling out updates for Google Docs and Google Sites and they have helped Google Sites users once again. Now I have never deleted a site so I never had to recover one, but I am sure that if I did this Soft Delete would come in handy.

Software engineers have retooled Google Sites features, but has not released anything truly exciting or major. At first I was excited about the web fonts, but some are rendered obsolete due to poor rendering (too small or too bold). This soft delete feature is also welcome, but is it something admins or end-users have actually clamored for? No. You could just not delete site, I mean you are limited to the amount of Sites you have (I haven't hit the limit at about 50 yet).

If you want to voice your ideas about Google Sites and whatever feature you would like to see, new or improved, please visit Google's moderator on Product Ideas. It says it is for Google Docs, but Google Sites ideas are welcome. Suggest members only page permissions, better background management, dynamic scaled column layouts, go crazy. Enough editorial, read on.



Soft delete your sites
We’ve received a lot of feedback that it was sometimes difficult to restore a deleted site, since you needed to remember a deleted site’s URL. Starting today, you will be able to view any sites you’ve deleted in the Deleted sites section of My Sites rather than needing to remember their URLs. In this section, you can also choose to restore your site or delete it permanently before 30 days have passed. Note that as before, after the 30-day grace period, deleted sites will be permanently deleted.


Let us know what you think of these updates. If you have any ideas for new features, submit them to our Product Ideas page, open until June 16.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...